Empathy in Art: Embracing the Other

2018 DoveTales Front coverDoveTales, An International Journal of the Arts

“Empathy in Art: Embracing the Other”

$14.95 Paperback

436 Pages

Book Description:
DoveTales, An International Journal of the Arts, “Empathy in Art: Embracing the Other” edition features poetry, essays,  and short stories from our 2017 and 2018 Young Contest Winners, our advisers, established, and emerging writers, as well as strikingly beautiful art and photography.

Front Cover: Christopher Woods, “All About Free.”

Featured Advisers:

Ping Wang published 13 books of poetry and prose: Life of Miracles along the Yangtze and Mississippi, American Visa, Foreign Devil, Of Flesh and Spirit, New Generation, Aching for Beauty, The Magic Whip, The Last Communist Virgin, 10,000 Waves… She’s recipient of NEA, Bush, Lannan and McKnight Fellowships. She’s the founder and director of Kinship of Rivers project, and professor of English at Macalester College. 

Patricia Jabbeh Wesley is a Liberian civil war survivor who immigrated to the United States with her family during the fourteen year Liberian civil war. Her books include When the Wanderers Come Home, Where the Road Turns, The River is Rising, Becoming Ebony, Before the Palm Could Bloom: Poems of Africa, and one children’s book, In Monrovia, the River Visits the Sea. Her poem, “One Day: Love Song for Divorced Women” was featured by US Poet Laureate, Ted Kooser in American Life in Poetry June 13, 2011 edition. Some of her awards include a 2016 WISE Women Award and the Crab Orchard Award. Her poems have appeared in New Orleans Review, Crab Orchard Review, Prairie Schooner, among others, and have been translated into several languages. She is an Associate Professor of English and Creative Writing at Penn State University.

This book is dedicated to the memory of Sam Hamill (1943-2018)

Sam Hamill was born in 1943 and grew up on a Utah farm. He is Founding Editor of Copper Canyon Press and served as Editor there for thirty-two years. He taught in artist-in-residency programs in schools and prisons and worked with Domestic Violence programs. He was the founding editor of Copper Canyon Press, directed the Port Townsend Writers Conference for nine years, and in 2003, founded Poets Against the War. He is the author of more than forty books, including celebrated translations from ancient Chinese, Japanese, Greek and Latin.

Pilar Rodríguez Aranda, Carol Alena Aronoff, Traci Badu, Anna Banasiak, Louise Belulovich, Jennifer Boyd, Janel Brubaker, Mary Carroll-Hackett,  William Cass,  D. L. Crockett-Smith,  Joe Cottonwood,  Kaitlyn Crow, Edward D. Currelley, Lorraine Currelley, Dr. Bill DeArmond, Maija Rhee Devine, Judith Ferster, Kelle Grace Gaddis,  Sharif Gemie,
S. A. Gerber, Juleus Ghunta,  Sam Hamill (1943-2018), Lisa Hayes-Minney, Randel McCraw Helms, Ilona Hegedűs, Brigid Hokana, Yuliya Ilchuk, Jennifer Irani, Lowell Jaeger, Daniel Jakopovich, Donovan James, Phil Johnson, Irène Kaesermann, Imran Khan, Antonia Alexandra Klimenko, Robert Kostuck, Stephen Kuusisto, Bruce Lader, Page Lambert, Albert Lee, Vicki Lindner, Lennart Lundh, Laura Mahal, Michael Maldonado, Djelloul Marbrook, Carmel Mawle, Mariana Mcdonald, Sandra McGarry, Michele Merens, Michael Meteyer, Loretta Oleck, Carl “Papa” Palmer, Natalie Smith Parra, Simon Perchik, Julia Poole, Althea Romeo-Mark, Courtney Rose, Kathleen Sands, Kristen D. Scott, Samantha Seto, Howard F. Stein, J. J. Steinfeld, Ping Wang, Mbeke Waseme,  Patricia Jabbeh Wesley, Brad Wetzler, Rachel Won, Serhiy Zhadan, and Albert Zhang.

Learn more about our contributors here.

Art and Photography:
Ali Nikzad,  Christopher Woods, and Albert Zhang.

Pilar Rodríguez Aranda, Robert Kostuck, and Mary Carroll-Hackett

2017 Young Writers Contest Winners:

In Poetry~ First Place: Lisa Zou; Second Place: Jacqueline He;  Third Place: Cindy Song

In Fiction~ First Place: Wajudah Muheeb; Second Place: Jessica Hansen; Third Place: McKinsey Crozier

In Nonfiction~ First Place: Euijin Oh; Second Place: Riley Mayes; Third Place: Brandon Sklarin

2018 Young Writers Contest Winners:

In Poetry~ First Place: Anna Yang;  Second Place: Booyeon Choi;  Third Place: Lisa Zou

Fiction~ First Place: Sarah Ryu; Second Place:  Chang Hyeon Park;  Third Place:  David Gorodetsky 

Nonfiction~ First Place: Carolyn Qu;  Second Place: Sally Liu;  Third Place: Yu-Chen Lim

Editor-in-Chief: Carmel Mawle

Associate Editors: Craig Mawle, Phillip M. Richards, Willean Hornbeck

Sponsored by Colgate University Research Council.


Copyright © 2018 Writing for Peace. All rights reserved.