2016 Contest Winners

We would like to acknowledge all of the young writers who took the time to research a new culture and write a story, essay, or poem for the Writing for Peace Young Writers Contest. Completing this challenge is no small achievement, and we salute your commitment to expanding your knowledge base and developing your craft. We would also like to thank the teachers and mentors who encouraged their students to take our challenge, and then inspired and guided them to prepare their best work.

In Fiction

First Place: “Cherry Blossom Soldier” by Vivian Zhao
Naperville, Illinois, USA

Second Place: “My Two Fathers” by Julianna Lee
Demarest, New Jersey, USA

Third Place: “In A Southwestern Town” by Jake Pritchett
Belvue, Colorado, USA


In Nonfiction

First Place: “North Africa to Iberia” by Jared Anwar
Pacific Palisade, California, USA

Second Place: “The Kurdish Injustice” by Grace Choi
Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA

Third Place: “Destined to be Dalits” by Jaeeun Kim
Tenafly, New Jersey, USA


In Poetry

First Place: “She Serves in Ben Hai” by Lisa Zou
Chandler, Arizona, USA

Second Place: “Dear M” by Lydia Chew
Chandler, Arizona, USA

Third Place: “Mae Jean” by Ritika Bharati
Chandler, Arizona, USA

2016 winning entries will be published in our 2017 DoveTales. Participation Certificates and Awards will be sent out next week. Be sure to watch our blog and Facebook page to learn more about these talented young writers, and what our judges had to say about their work. We would like to thank our prestigious panel of judges: Meg Pokrass; Rebekah Mosby, Nonfiction; E. Ethelbert Miller, poetry.


Notable Finalists

This year, in addition to our winners, Writing for Peace would like to recognize three exceptional finalists whose submissions will be published in our blog.

“Unity in Peace” by Archika Dogra
Bellevue, Washington, USA

“Cocktail at Azrael’s” by Gökçe Güven
Istanbul, Turkey

“The Night of Shattered Myth” by Swatilekha Roy
Durgapur, West Bengal, India

Congratulations to all our contest winners!


Copyright © 2016/2019 Writing for Peace. All rights reserved.